Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

January 16, 2024

The Honorable Willie L. Phillips Chairman Federal Energy Regulatory Commission 888 First Street, N.E. Washington, D.C. 20426

Dear Chairman Phillips:

As Members of Congress supportive of maintaining reliability during a rapid and equitable national clean energy transition, we respectfully request you to strengthen and finalize the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission's (FERC's) pending regional transmission planning and cost allocation rule as soon as possible.

Through the enactment of the Inflation Reduction Act and the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, Congress and the Biden administration have committed to undertaking a historic energy transition to ensure access to reliable, affordable, and clean electricity for all Americans, and power long-term, sustainable economic growth. However, as the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine warned in an October study, "[t]he single greatest technological danger to a successful energy transition is the risk that the nation fails to site, modernize, and build out the electrical grid." The need to plan for and ramp up transmission capacity is clear. The Department of Energy's National Transmission Needs Study anticipates that transmission capacity will need to double in many regions of the country between now and 2035 if we are to meet clean energy policy goals, even assuming only moderate overall load growth.²

We are grateful for the extensive work that FERC has undertaken on this proposed rule for the past two years, allowing for thorough discussion and vetting of the proposal by states, grid operators, and other stakeholder groups. FERC must now issue a final rule that fulfills the proposed rule's promise to "remedy deficiencies in the Commission's existing regional transmission planning and cost allocation requirements."

In recent years, we have witnessed numerous examples of grid resilience issues, which have highlighted the inadequacy of the grid to handle changing load patterns, interconnect new clean

¹ National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, Accelerating Decarbonization in the United States: Technology, Policy, and Societal Dimensions (2023), https://doi.org/10.17226/25931.

² U.S. Department of Energy, National Transmission Needs Study (Oct 2023), https://www.energy.gov/sites/default/files/2023-10/National Transmission Needs Study 2023.pdf.

³ Building for the Future Through Electric Regional Transmission Planning and Cost Allocation and Generator Interconnection, 87 Fed. Reg. 26504, 26504 (May 4, 2022) (to be codified at 18 C.F.R. 35), https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2022/05/04/2022-08973/building-for-the-future-through-electric-regional-transmission-planning-and-cost-allocation-and.

energy resources, and respond to increasingly frequent and severe extreme weather events. FERC's final rule should ensure that transmission planners account for these factors by requiring a long-term, forward-looking 20-year planning horizon that addresses the changing circumstances and the evolution of our energy system.

Further, the final rule must require consideration of a comprehensive and specific set of transmission benefits to consumers which should be used in cost allocation processes. We support incorporating states' input on cost allocation, along with a means of resolving disagreements and allocating costs to customers in a way that is roughly commensurate with those specified benefits.

In order to grow our economy, keep communities safe during extreme weather events, address historic environmental injustices, and decrease energy costs for consumers, a robust and wellplanned transmission grid is essential. With a strong final rule, FERC can play a critical role in achieving these goals, fulfilling the promise of the most consequential infrastructure and climate laws in history.

We appreciate your consideration of this request and stand ready to work with you to help finalize a strong regional transmission and cost allocation planning rule.

Sincerely,

Paul D. Tonko

Member of Congress

Mike Quigley

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Doris Matsui

Member of Congress

Natsu

Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree

Hate Ports

Katie Porter
Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Mike Levin
Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress Pete Aguilar Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Katly Castor

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress



Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

Andrea Salinas
Member of Congress

Jonathan L. Jackson Jember of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Jil Tokuda Member of Congress Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Jerrold Nadler
Member of Congress

Set Magaziner
Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Chris Pappas

Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier
Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez

Member of Congress

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress Yvette D. Clarke
Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Morgan McGarvey Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress Becca Balint

Becca Balint Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Mosy Hockson

whn P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress Dwight Evans

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

David J. Trone Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Greg Casar Member of Congress

Summer Lee Member of Congress

Tamie Raskin
Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson
Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Mark Takano
Member of Congress

Bill Foster Member of Congress Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

Emilia Strong Sykes Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Ritchie Torres Member of Congress Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Winds J. Jain

Emanuel Cleaver, II
Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress Judy Chu
Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Tony Cardenes

Danny K. **Q**avis Member of Congress

Cori Bush Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Jasmine Crockett Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Jeff Jackson Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress Sydney Ramlager Dove Member of Congress

Eyme S. Tusol

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress Val Hoyle Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Jake Auchincloss Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Angie Craig

Member of Congress

Abigail Davis Spanberger Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Susie Lee

Member of Congress

Rick Larsen

Member of Congress

Rick Zansen

Lizzie Fletcher