Home | news | Press Releases

Press Releases

Tonko Cheers Inclusion of 4 Major Priorities in Addiction & Mental Health Agenda

Joins Bipartisan Addiction & Mental Health Task Force to announce 117th legislative agenda

  • event speech

WASHINGTON, DC—Congressman Paul D. Tonko joined a press conference with the Bipartisan Addiction and Mental Health Task Force announcing their legislative agenda for this Congress, which includes four key bills championed by Tonko. This slate of Tonko-led bills includes:

  • The Mainstreaming Addiction Treatment Act that would remove bureaucratic barriers blocking access to the safe, proven addiction medication, buprenorphine.
  • The Medicaid Reentry Act that empowers states to restore access to addiction treatment through Medicaid for incarcerated individuals up to 30 days before their release.
  • The Medicaid Bump Act that would increase the federal reimbursement rate for mental and behavioral health care services under Medicaid.
  • The COVID Mental Health Research Act that would fund research to study the effects the COVID-19 pandemic has on the mental health of Americans, with an emphasis on its impact on children and health care providers.

“This pandemic has underscored the urgent and largely unmet needs millions of Americans struggling with addiction and mental illness,” Congressman Tonko said. “These crises cannot be addressed unless we advance immediate, robust legislation to provide hope to those who need it most. I am proud to lead several key bills that support mental health and addiction programs and treatments. I’m honored to join my colleagues in the Bipartisan Addiction and Mental Health Task Force to uphold our commitment to passing these lifesaving provisions and thank my friends Congresswoman Kuster, Congressman Fitzpatrick, Congressman Trone and Congresswoman Herrera Beutler for their continued leadership and support in this space. For the countless individuals still struggling, and to their loved ones and advocates, we will not stop this fight.”

The Bipartisan Addiction and Mental Health Task Force is led by Representatives David Trone (D-MD), Ann McLane Kuster, (D-NH), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA) and Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA) with the mission of promoting policies and legislation to combat America’s addiction and mental health crises.

Video of the press conference can be found HERE. (Rep. Tonko remarks begin at 23:30)


Stay Connected